Thursday, March 3, 2016

Supplemental Levy Election: March 8, 2016

March 8, 2016


The Genesee Joint School District #282 will ask voters on March 08, 2016 to RENEW the proposed one-year levy of $935,000. This supplemental levy allows the District to  maintain quality educational programs and opportunities for students of the Genesee Joint School District #282.

This levy is a RENEWAL of the 2015/2016 levy

The determination of the levy amount is based on the discrepancy between the revenue available to the District from state and federal funding and the educational needs determined by the Board of Trustees. Taking into account the property tax reduction provided by the agricultural equipment replacement exemption, which is approximately $51,726 and the personal business property tax exemption , which is approximately $5,000. The estimated cost of this levy will be  $878,274.

This supplemental levy allows  the District  to support educational and extra-curricular programs for students attending Genesee Schools for the 2016/2017 school year.  The proposed levy provides necessary funds that State and Federal Dollars do not cover. 

If you have any questions regarding the levy please contact Wendy Moore, Superintendent or Lezah Shinkle, Business Manager. 

If you have questions regarding the voting process, we encourage you to contact Latah County Auditors Office, Room 101, 522 South Adams, Moscow, ID.

For Electors in  Latah Co:

Precinct 21:  Genesee Senior Center, 140 E. Walnut, Genesee, ID  
 Precinct 23: Juliaetta City Hall Annex, 203 Main St, Juliaetta, ID

Absentee (In Person) voting will take place at:  Latah County Auditors Office,  Room 101, 522 South Adams, Moscow, ID. 
 Deadline for Absentee (in person) voting is March 4th at 5:00 p.m.
For Electors in Nez Perce Co.

Ballots will be mailed to registered electors beginning Feb. 13, 2016.

Absentee (In-Person) voting will take place at:  Nez Perce Co. Courthouse, Room 100, 1230 Main St, Lewiston, ID  Deadline for Absentee (in person) voting is March 4th at 5:00 p.m.